Ten communicators honored as WACC Laureates
post-template-default,single,single-post,postid-59888,single-format-standard,theme-bridge,bridge-core-3.1.6,woocommerce-no-js,qodef-qi--no-touch,qi-addons-for-elementor-1.6.9,qode-page-transition-enabled,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode-title-hidden,columns-4,qode-child-theme-ver-1.0.0,qode-theme-ver-30.4.1,qode-theme-bridge,qode_header_in_grid,qode-wpml-enabled,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-7.6,vc_responsive,elementor-default,elementor-kit-41156
Two rows of 5 portrait pictures each and the WACC logo below.

Ten communicators honored as WACC Laureates

WACC’s Board of Directors has named ten individuals as new Honorary Lifetime Members in recognition of their long-time dedication to advancing communication for all.

Since 1995, WACC has celebrated individuals from around the world who have upheld the organization’s vision and mission of promoting communication rights in order to build more just, participatory, and sustainable societies.

Whether communication practitioner, researcher, administrator, or educator, WACC Laureates have demonstrated a firm commitment to contributing to the common good by putting WACC’s Principles of Communication into action.

“Much of what WACC does depends on the vision and dedication of individuals,” said WACC General Secretary Philip Lee. “It’s a privilege to work alongside women and men who share the ideal of advancing communication for all.”

New WACC Laureates

Gregg Brekke is a United Church of Christ minister, a journalist, and the executive director of the Associated Church Press (U.S.A.). He is a member of WACC’s Board of Directors and serves as WACC North America vice-president.

Dr Stephen G. Brown works as editor for the World Council of Churches. A former treasurer and member-at-large of WACC’s Board of Directors, he is a current member of the WACC Europe Regional Executive Committee, where he served previously as vice-president and president.

Magali Cunha is a Brazilian Methodist who has worked as an educator, researcher, and journalist under the banner of “communication for all.” She has been involved in numerous WACC initiatives and partnerships, particularly in Latin America.

Maximilian Dueñas Guzmán is citizen journalist, communication professor, and radio host in Puerto Rico. He coordinates WACC’s Global Media Monitoring Project (GMMP) for the Spanish-speaking Caribbean region and serves on the WACC Caribbean Regional Executive Committee.

Daniel A. Favaro Valle is a Methodist pastor and communicator from Argentina. He has been president, treasurer, and member-at-large of the WACC Latin America Regional Executive Committee and helped to organize WACC assemblies in Argentina.

Sandra López Astudillo is a radio producer and the coordinator of Fundación GAMMA in Ecuador. She has volunteered with the GMMP for nearly 25 years, including as its Latin America regional coordinator since 2010.

Tuomo Pesonen was communications director of the Evangelical Lutheran Church of Finland and worked as a journalist and broadcaster. A former member of the WACC Europe Regional Executive Committee, he helped to organize the European Festival of Religious Programmes.

Ary Regis is a Haitian social communications educator and supporter of community radio. He has served as president of WACC Caribbean and was a member of WACC’s Board of Directors.

Eloy Teckemeier has a degree in journalism and directed a Christian publishing house in Brazil. He served as treasurer of both WACC Global and WACC Latin America, and has represented WACC at the Frankfurt Book Fair.

The Rev Achowah Umenei is a former pastor, journalist, and communications director of the Presbyterian Church in Cameroon. He was a member of WACC’s Board of Directors and of the WACC Africa Regional Executive Committee, serving as regional vice-president and president.

Read more about the new WACC Honorary Lifetime Members and meet WACC Laureates recognized in previous years.

No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.